WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Lies, Lies

Leave a comment


You knew I didn’t want pain
you wanted to feel strength a
Reason to smile.
I was feeling strong and happy
You chased it, reached in and stole
it. bu the difference is –
I will regrow it. Because
I produced it. And you can’t
have something
that belonged to me
in the first place.
No one can
give you happiness. You have
to find it out for yourself.
This time when I’m strong
I will not allow you to take it.
The pieces of me you took
all burn out for you. But
I will never fade. Too bad
so sad. So thanks
to Poe “Nevermore.”

Leave a Reply

