WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Listen

Leave a comment

Can you hear my heart beating
to the sound of your words.

Listen.
Can you hear my heart
breaking as the lies are poured out
of your mouth, as I hear
the toilet flushing with sickness.

Listen.
Can you hear me when
I cry deep in my hidden places
of my heart where I hold
on to Hope.
The hope that one day
together we can be thankful
for the beat of our hearts
the sincerity of our own words
and the love we’ve grown
to be thankful for.

Maribell

Leave a Reply

