WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Before

Leave a comment

Before you entered through the door
my legs were planted firmly on the floor.

Before you said goodbye
my tears began to subside

Before you said I love you
my heart was broken

Pieces of my past
began to build a wall of creation

Artistically I grew to puzzle a picture of a life
I never knew, a life of streams running through

the hidden places of the mountains. I created
a cabin with glass walls
to see beyond the hidden walls.

I began to escape.

I began to awake.

I heard your voice

so soft and calm
that I saddled up
and prepared myself
for that ride into freedom.

Before you I was sad.

Now today I feel so proud.

Happiness has escaped me.

Leave a Reply

