WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

I Remember

Leave a comment

I remember when I was young
I loved to help my mom
bake pies. I ate till my heart
was full and happy.

I remember sitting at the table
eating fruit and laughing.
Most of all, I remember
the love in my mom’s eyes
as she watched me watch her cook
sweet apple pies that filled my heart
with so much love.

Now I watch my grandchildren
watch me when I cook.
To hear Jorge say “You’re the best
cook in the world. No one can cook
as good as you,” fill my heart
with so much love for him.

I hope that one day
when he grows up
he will be a lot like me
and cook from the heart.

by T

 

Leave a Reply

