WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Sadness & Joy

Leave a comment

I used to be sad most of the time and drink to take my pain away, not being able to be with my children or my family. Not being able to have my children makes me really sad. I had a lot of pain. I used to drink for the sadness and realized that would not help me to get my children or family back. But then I realized, if I got help, I would get them back and little by little, my family is coming around. I am now speaking with my sister after five years and I also get to attend family functions that have brought a lot of joy into my life at this very moment when my family is  proud of what I am accomplishing. Right now in my life it is so joyous.

Leave a Reply

