WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

I am from

Leave a comment

a small town in Oklahoma.
I rode my horse all over the county. The horse threw me
off twice.
I lived on a farm until I was nine years old.
A rooster pecked me on the lip when I was six years old
but I still liked to hear it crow every morning.
My older brother when he was 14 was killed
in a farming accident. This turned my family
upside down. My mother began playing the organ
for the church. She grew roses
when we still lived on the farm
and I went to garden club with her.
I took my cat, Penny with me to garden club.

Leave a Reply

