WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Before

Leave a comment

Before, my mom and dad’s
divorce, I was still a child
Innocent, creative, lovely,
lovable, learning. Before my mom
became an alcoholic, I still had
Hope and believed in her. Before my
dad committed suicide, I only had
a little bit of light in me.

Before I was left a single mother
with 4 boys I still had some
life in me. After all this
I was a broken vessel.
Now I’m living again. Somehow
I got the strength to revive,
look ahead, not behind.

Leave a Reply

