WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Table made of pine wood

1 Comment

covered over by white chipped paint
I was once young
and my feet danced
to the beat of a different Native drum
She gathers sheets to drape
over the rectangular table
to hide pretend time so my
brothers wouldn’t make fun
or laugh at me.
I collect blankets
and soft pillows
She washes her dolls
with Johnson & Johnson baby bar soap
the smell lingers in the air
Table indoors or outdoors
that was my solitude, my solace
Cousins came to play
to waste the day exchanging
smiles, laughs and imaginary plays
This was a safe place
to hide away the day.

One thought on “Table made of pine wood

  1. I love “She washes her dolls/ with Johnson & Johnson baby bar soap!” What a great image and detail. And the fact that the smell lingers in the air. Wonderful! Thank you for this poem.

Leave a Reply

