WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

After Nancy Willard’s “Questions My Son Asked Me, Answers I Never Gave Him”

Leave a comment

If I drop my tooth in the telephone, will it go through the wires and bite someone’s ears?
The tongue rests on the tooth and has the power to pierce someone’s heart.

If I stand on my head will the sleep in my eye roll up into my head?
If you think with your heart will the mouth voice your dreams?

What happens at the end of numbers?
Excess has overcome the need to keep count.

Do the years ever run out?
Only if pen and paper cease to exist

Do butterflies make noise?
They rejoice in freedom as they learn to fly fluttering their triumph of transformation

Are they part of our family?
Would you like them to be? You choose.

Leave a Reply

