WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

But What If

Leave a comment

But what if my heart is an ancient buried treasure chest waiting to be found under the sea?

What if my heart is hiding inside my psychosis?

What if my heart was a fallen fruit from the Tree of Life?

What if my heart had once been frozen in time and now it is a victim of global warming?

What if my heart was not the organ that kept my human form alive?

What if my heart was two sizes too small?

What if my heart was full of a galaxy of stars?

What if my heart led me along a hopscotch path to the place I was created?

What if my heart is not a fertile soil for new seed to be sown?

What if my heart was intended for a different body?

What if my heart, beating in time with my beloved’s, is the only meaning to my painful existence?

What if my heart is so broken and rebuilt with faulty repair materials that when my heart’s desire ended, so did I?

What if my heart is so reinforced with the difficulties life affords that I will purposefully choose to leave it on clearance aisles?

What if my heart cannot withstand the pain of my life as it is today?

What then, oh my Creator, why did you give my heart, soul and spirit a place to experience death, destruction and miserable, painful years of suffering!

What if my self built security wall was never compromised by the sound of my partner’s voice saying my  name?

Leave a Reply

