WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

What if my heart …

Leave a comment

What if my heart is a ticking time bomb
ready to explode without my lithium?

What if my heart could carry the weight
of the world and I fall off the face of the earth
into oblivion?

What if my heart skips a beat ten x’s over
I’d be dead at your feet

What if my heart could cleanse my thoughts
of you … you’re still there hidden in my heart

What if my heart could clench my steady
beats draining my life force?

What if my heart could reach out and touch you
Would you remember me?

What if my heart could pump my blood
into you as you’re wasting away

What if my heart were your life’s blood
beating to the sound of drums dancing

What if my heart could be yours
alone. If only time can tell.

Leave a Reply

