WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

I Am Other Than Myself

Leave a comment

because all I want is to play hero
who else can step in to place that zero
to make 10 but the one and only one?

When I’m closed and shut and hibernated
I crack a smile to protect the damage.
I can only move
to the next level of my game
before I run out of quarters.

I can only see flowers
growing from the seed
planted from the One and Only

I can only offer damaged love
love no one knows, damaged love
given back to the sender

hoping all is bright
that happy voices and happy tears
right the wrongs of a damaged product.

Leave a Reply

