WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Socks socks

Leave a comment

Socks, socks
shoes in socks
socks in shoes
feet in socks
in shoes, on my feet.

There they go
all day long
fabric wrapped, around my ten white toes
wiggle in the tight space.

Claustrophobic movement
as I think about all ten toes.
Nails on top of skiin
How do they attach?
Why can’t I feel the smell of stinky feet start to happen?
It’s cool how what I’m feeling and thinking
can be separate from my behavior.

Scratch scratch
the straps on my sandals rub
against my skin.
It feels different than having socks on.
My feet are more vulnerable
to be stepped on
my feet feel the temperature
change more easily …

This way
I can see my toes wiggle now.
This way
other can see ten other parts of me.
This way
can happen for so many different reasons.

(Can others not feel what I’m thinking like I can’t feel the smell of stinky feet start to happen?)

Leave a Reply

