WingSpan Poetry Project

CULTIVATING EMPOWERMENT THROUGH POETRY

Zuzu’s Friend

Leave a comment

I am the fire that mixes with water to brighten the sky in a crackling roar called lightning.

I am the curtain you see in a play that opens and closes.

I am the darkness when you first turn off the light.

I a the shock you feel after hearing the word “fuck.”

I am the pain your skin feels after popping a pimple.

I am the stem of a feather–the unsoft part you use to put ink in sometimes.

I am as sensitive as silk is to a kitten’s claws.

You see, I am changing, I am changing.
I stand in good relation to being random.
I stand in good relation to sobriety.
I stand in good relation to my dreams.
I stand in good relations to the daughter of Rebekah.
You see, I am changing. I am changing.

~ Inspired by N. Scott Momaday’s “The Delight Song of Tsoai-talee”

by Rea

Leave a Reply

